Research Groups | MARINe

Lead Group

University of California Santa Cruz UCSC logo

This group manages the database and website and surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites from Oregon to northern Santa Barbara County, and Biodiversity Survey sites from Alaska to Mexico. These sites are funded by  Bureau of Ocean Energy ManagementCalifornia Ocean Protection CouncilCalifornia Sea GrantComunidad y BiodiversidadMonterey Bay National Marine SanctuaryPartnership for Interdisciplinary Studies of Coastal Oceans, and  United States Navy. For more information about these sites, please contact Pete Raimondi (raimondi@ucsc.edu).

Additional Groups

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura, and Los Angeles Counties. These sites are primarily funded by Bureau of Ocean Energy Management. For more information about these sites, please contact Lisa Gilbane (lisa.gilbane@boem.gov).

Cabrillo National Monument National Parks Service logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within  Cabrillo National Monument and and San Diego County. These sites are primarily funded by the National Park Service. For more information about these sites, please contact Keith Lombardo (keith_lombardo@nps.gov).

Channel Islands National Park National Parks Service logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within  Channel Islands National Park. These sites are primarily funded by the National Park Service. For more information about these sites, please contact Stephen Whitaker (stephen_whitaker@nps.gov).

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona California State Polytechnic University logo

This research group, along with California State University at Fullerton, surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within Orange County, California and co-coordinates the Multi-Agency Rocky Intertidal Network (MARINe). These sites are primarily funded by  Bureau of Ocean Energy Management. For more information about these sites, please contact Jayson Smith (jaysonsmith@cpp.edu) and Jennifer Burnaford (jburnaford@exchange.fullerton.edu). For more information about MARINe, please contact Jennifer Burnaford (jburnaford@exchange.fullerton.edu).

California State University at Long Beach California State University at Long Beach

This research group surveys one Long-Term Monitoring site in Palos Verdes, California. This site is currently unfunded. For more information about this site, please contact Bengt Allen (Bengt.Allen@csulb.edu).

California State University at Fullerton California State University at Fullerton

This research group, along with California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within Orange County, California and co-coordinates the Multi-Agency Rocky Intertidal Network (MARINe). These sites are primarily funded by Bureau of Ocean Energy Management. For more information about these sites, please contact Jayson Smith (jaysonsmith@cpp.edu) and Jennifer Burnaford (jburnaford@exchange.fullerton.edu). For more information about MARINe, please contact Jennifer Burnaford (jburnaford@exchange.fullerton.edu).

Feiro Marine Life Center WWU logo

This research group surveys one Long-Term Monitoring site within Freshwater Bay, Washington. This site is currently unfunded. For more information about this site, please contact Helle Andersen (ardeaco@yahoo.com).

Humboldt State University Humboldt State University logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites in Northern California. These sites are primarily funded by  California Sea Grant. For more information about these sites, please contact Sean Craig (Sean.Craig@humboldt.edu).

Navy Marine Ecology Consortium Navy logo Navy logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites on San Clemente and San Nicolas Islands. These sites are primarily funded by United States Navy. For more information about these sites, please contact Suzanne Graham (suzanne.graham@navy.mil) or Jessica Bredvik (jessica.bredvik@navy.mil).

Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary. These sites are primarily funded by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. For more information about these sites, please contact Jenny Waddell (jenny.waddell@noaa.gov).

Olympic National Park National Parks Service logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within the Olympic National Park. These sites are primarily funded by the National Park Service. For more information about these sites, please contact Steven Fradkin (Steven_Fradkin@nps.gov).

Padilla Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve

Padilla Bay logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within the Padilla Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve. These sites are primarily funded by the National Estuarine Research Reserve System and the Washington State Department of Ecology. For more information about these sites, please contact Heath Bohlmann (hbohlmann@padillabay.gov).

Partnership for Interdisciplinary Studies of Coastal Oceans UCSB logo

This research group, known as PISCO, surveys sites along the Santa Barbara coastline and on Santa Cruz Island as part of a multi-university monitoring effort stretching from Oregon to Southern California. For more information, please contact Jenn Caselle (caselle@msi.ucsb.edu).

Quinault Indian Nation Quinault Indian Nation logo

This research group surveys one Long-Term Monitoring site within the Quinault Indian Nation. For more information about these sites, please contact Scott Mazzone (smazzone@quinault.org).

Redwood National and State Parks National Parks Service logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within Redwood National and State Parks. These sites are primarily funded by the National Park Service. For more information about these sites, please contact Karah Ammann (karah.ammann@ucsc.edu) and Eric Dinger (eric_dinger@nps.gov).

San Francisco Bay Area Network - National Park Service National Parks Service logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within the Point Reyes National Seashore and the Golden Gate National Recreation Area. These sites are primarily funded by the Inventory and Monitoring Program of the National Park Service. For more information about these sites, please contact Ben Becker (Ben_Becker@nps.gov) or Darren Fong (darren_fong@nps.gov).

Sitka Sound Science Center Sitka Sound logo

Sitka Sound Science Center surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within Sitka Sound, Alaska. These sites are primarily funded by the North Pacific Research Board. For more information about these sites, please contact Victoria O'Connell (victoria.oconnell@gmail.com).

University of California Los Angeles UCLA logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within southern Santa Barbara, Ventura, and Los Angeles counties. These sites are primarily funded by the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management and Cabrillo Marine Aquarium . For more information about these sites, please contact Rich Ambrose (rambrose@ucla.edu).

University of Washington University of Washington logo

This research group surveys Long-Term Monitoring sites within the Washington Salish Sea with assistance from Washington Department of Natural Resources.  For more information about these sites, please contact Megan Dethier (mdethier@uw.edu).

Western Washington University WWU logo

This research group surveys one Long-Term Monitoring site within Bellingham Bay, Washington. This site is currently unfunded. For more information about this site, please contact Melissa Miner (cmminer@ucsc.edu).